Who we are

North Queensland Conservation Council is run on a day-to-day basis by a part-time coordinator.

maree-smMaree Dibella has been Coordinator since April 2016. Wendy Tubman, our previous co-ordinator until 2011, resigned to run as the Greens candidate for the 2016 Federal election. Maree has a Bachelor of International Studies and was previously a Green Army team supervisor.

Previous coordinators, in the last fifteen years, have included Jeremy Tager, Carol Booth, James McLellan and Gail Hamilton.

NQCC Management Committee 2016/2017

Gail Hamilton – President

Gail Hamilton has been an integral part of NQCC since 2008, hgail-profile3-copyaving been president, secretary and coordinator over that time. Gail is an environmental engineer, working with Townsville Water on our sewerage system as well as being passionate about protecting our environment.
While NQCC is an apolitical organisation, many of our members have strong political views and like others within the environmental movement Gail has run as a candidate in local, state and federal elections to encourage the major parties to adopt better climate change and environmental policies.
Jardine and Acacia, Gail’s kids, have also been great supporters of NQCC, and you will see them helping out at various functions.

Rocco – Secretary

Rocco currently works with NQ Dry Tropics as the Senior Community Engagement Officer.

Orlanda Endicott – Treasurer

George Hirst – Committee Member

George is one half of Cranky Curlew Productions, a local media production company that primarily focusses on environmental issues. George, and Cranky Curlew Productions, has worked with NQCC to create great media, such as this ‘Heads in the Sand‘ stunt for Global Day of Climate Action 2014, and again in 2015 to coincide with the 2015 Climate Conference, and a divestment campaign video called ‘Kittens for the Reef‘ George is the founder and former editor of Magnetic Times. George is currently the Treasurer for Magnetic Island Nature Care Association.

Vern Veitch – Committee Member

Vern frequently championed environmental matters during his time as the Deputy Mayor of Townsville City Council. Prior to becoming a Councillor in 2008, Vern was a Wetland Ecologist at James Cook University. Vern is currently the Chair of the Townsville Local Marine Advisory Committee, a voluntary community group that advises the Great Barrier Reef Marine Park Authority on Marine Park management issues.

Jenny Sebba – Committee Member, interim Treasurer

Christy Vena – Committee Member

Courtney Honchin – Committee Member

*the role of Vice-President is currently vacant.

Presiding over NQCC’s Public Fund are Mary Vance, Lindy Collins, David Kault (past President) and Wendy Tubman.

NQCC’s task would be harder without the assistance of many other volunteers. If you would like to offer your skills and join them for a short or long term, please click here.